Skip to content

Cleaning the Kitchen Sink

January 17, 2012

I’ve talked about finding your “Kitchen Sink”, or that one thing in your house that you need to keep clean for your sanity (and encouragement that you cleaned something).  And since my “Kitchen Sink” is really my literal kitchen sink, I wanted to tell you how I keep it clean.

Well ok,

sometimes I don’t.

But I feel l better when I do.

(wouldn’t it be great if right here I had a picture of my kitchen sink all nice and clean? Yes, I think so too….)

My system is pretty simple and do-able for a work and home wife, or just somebody who doesn’t want to spend a long time doing dishes and scrubbing a sink.

I am pretty much an all or nothing person, especially when it comes to cleaning.  So if the dishwasher is full of clean dishes and I don’t want to empty is right then, the dishes go in the sink, and once there is a single plate in the there, then ALL the dishes pile up until I can’t stand it anymore.

I use two steps for keeping the dishes under control, without having them pile up AND without scrubbing a lot of dishes.

First I try to run the dishwasher each night and empty it in the morning before I leave for work.  This gives us the freedom to put dishes in the dishwasher as we use them (and plus, after dinner, if there are clean dishes in the dishwasher it is SO much harder to empty it and then load it, I just don’t want to!). So after dinner I just put everything in the dishwasher, and then take a quick look around the house to see if there are any stray dishes.

And next, if we used a large dish for cooking (or even small dishes for that matter) that have cooked on food, or anything sticky that might require scrubbing (which I don’t like) I do one thing.  Fill it with hot, soapy water and leave it for a while.

That’s it.  Pretty simple.  When I come back after letting it soak all of the sticky, caked on food slides right out (well most of the time anyway), then I just stick it in the dishwasher.  (Or if it is too large, or the dishwasher is too full,  I grab a rag with some extra soap and hot water, give it a quick wash and rinse and I’m done).

If you don’t have enough dishes to run it each night (and sometimes we don’t) we just leave it and continue adding dishes until it is full, and then we run it like normal.

Sometimes I still have to wash up a few of the larger dishes that won’t fit, but I just do it quickly and get it over with.

Then comes the cleaning the sink part.  I put the stopper in one side of the sink, turn on HOT HOT water, add a little cleaner (I like to use Pinesol, cause it smells so good), and let the sink fill with water.  Walk away.

After a little while, come back and drain the sink.  Take a rag, or dry towel (or paper towel, whatever) and wipe out the sink.

That’s it.  No scrubbing, no elbow grease.  Yay!

Do the dishes overwhelm you at times?  Do you have a solution that works for you, or do you think you could implement the system above?

Let me know your thoughts!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

