Skip to content

Workout in Pajamas

January 10, 2012


I like working out.

Really I do.

I grew up as a gymnast, and I like being strong and fit, and I like being challenged.

But it’s hard to find time, and let’s be honest, once I’m home from work and done with dinner, I want to veg out on the couch and watch whatever show I am currently addicted to (right now it’s “White Collar” in case you were wondering.).

So the only option is getting up early….

Y.U.C.K.

I don’t like early.

At. All.

But I have tried, really I have.  But consider the fact that I have to:

  • Get up.
  • Get dressed.
  • Put my shoes on.
  • Pull my hair back into a ponytail that doesn’t look like a four-year-old did it.
  • Find my gym card.
  • Drive 10 minutes to the gym.
  • THEN work out.
  • AND drive 10 minutes back home.

PHEW – that alone makes me want to stay in bed.

So I came up with a new plan.  Working out at home. That saves at least 20 minutes (just the driving).  And guess what.

You can work out in your pajamas.

It’s true! There are no “Work out clothing police”.

Now I can sleep in until the last possible second and:

  • Drag myself out of bed
  • Pull my hair back into a ponytail that possibly looks like a four-year-old did it.
  • Put on my shoes.
  • Push play on the DVD player.
  • Work out.

SO MUCH more manageable.  And there are ALL kinds of workout videos you can choose from.  Right now I’m doing Jillian Michael’s “30 Day Shred”, and despite the fact that I thought it would be too easy (ha! I had not met Jillian yet!) it is truly a challenge for this out-of-shape-not-a-gymnast-anymore body of mine.  And if videos aren’t your thing (although, have you tried them? seriously.), there are a lot of exercising you can do with just some floor space.

Do you have a video or home workout routine that you love? And, be honest, have you ever worked out in your pajamas?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2012 2:29 pm

    I love working out with Jillian in my pajamas. Sometimes I don’t even wear shoes (but I always have to put on a sports bra. Jumping jacks!). Its great to know I’m not alone!

    Thank you for sharing 🙂

    • Hannah permalink*
      January 11, 2012 2:33 pm

      Jillian is one tough cookie, she always seem to say “Don’t quit on me!” right as I’m thinking about crashing.

      I’ve thought about not wearing shoes, but I have a terrible fear of breaking my ankle (it is totally irrational and weird, but seriously a FEAR).

      Thanks!

  2. January 14, 2012 7:58 pm

    I work out with DVD’s all the time and love it! My workout clothes are my pajamas so I guess I work out like that all the time 🙂 Beats the gym any day!

Leave a Reply

